Distinguished Member Award

This award recognizes an NJHIMA member in good standing for at least 10 years who has demonstrated the following:

  • Exhibited service to NJHIMA in a leadership capacity as a Board or Committee member who has contributed above and beyond what is expected,
  • Exhibited educational leadership by presenting at NJHIMA workshops, meetings, or seminars, or contributed in an advisory capacity to HIM programs as an Advisory Board Member or as a site director for directed practice, or have published materials to benefit the HIM profession,
  • Exhibited professional achievement through the development of imaginative administrative or management techniques, or as a recognized resource person in the area of expertise,
  • Exemplifies the professional image of NJHIMA.

Nomination for Distinguished Service Award


Congratulations to the 2018 Recipient of the Distinguished Member Award:

Anastasia Gansfuss, RHIA

Stacy graduated from York College of Pennsylvania with a BS in Health Records Administration in 1981.   She began her career as the administrative assistant to the Medical Record Director.  She has held many positions from Supervisor, Privacy Officer to Director of Medical Records in many facilities in the Northern New Jersey.  She is currently the Director of Health Information Management at Robert Wood Johnson University Medical Group in New Brunswick.  

Stacy has been a member of the AHIMA for over 30 years.  She has participated on committees at a national level as well as being the NJ nominee to the AHIMA Nominating Committee.

In New Jersey, she has participated on the board almost from the beginning.  She was a member of the Arrangements Committee, Annual Meeting Committee, Nominating Committee and has chaired many of these committees.  Stacy was President of the NJHIMA 1996.  As many of you know the commitment to be president is three years.  After her tenure as president, Stacy once again became the Chair of the Education and Nominating Committees several times and served as delegate several times.  Since 2015 Stacy has been the Chair of the Membership Committee.

Stacy has been an active member of the New Jersey Health Information Management Association for a long time and it’s our pleasure to show that her dedication and time have been appreciated. 


2017   Bonnie J.Ivler, RHIA, CPC
2016   Peggy Feeley, RHIA, CCS, CCS-P, COC
2015   Carole S. Liebner, RHIT, CCS
2014   Donna L. Waters, RHIT
2013   Mary Sottile, RHIA
2012   Karen Fischback, MSMIS, RHIA, CCS, PMP
2011   Kathleen A. Frawley, JD, MS, RHIA, FAHIMA*
2010   Susan P. Scully, MS, RHIA, CCS, CCS-P, FAHIMA
2009   Joyce M. Matheson, RHIT
2008   Amelia Mattoon, RHIA, MAS, RHIA
2006   Michele O’Connor, MPA, RHIA
2005   Carolyn Magnotta, RHIA
2004   Octavia Kelly-Gaston, RHIA
2003   Barbara Parmese
2002   Tim Keough, MPA, RHIA
2001   Natalie Sartori, M.Ed., RHIA
2000   Barbara J. Manger, MPA, RHIA, CCS, FAHIMA
1999   Nadinia A. Davis, MBA, CIA, CPA, RHIA
1998   Estelle Butler, MA, RHIA* 
1997   Margaret Stangel, RHIA
1996   Laureen Rimmer, RHIA
1995   Pamela Burns, RHIA
1994   Donna Cartwright, MPA, RHIA


NJHIMA also recognizes these past Distinguished Members:

Roberta Angermiller, RHIT
Sonja Bennett, RHIA
Pauline Carmichael, RHIA

Sally Groiss, RHIA
Margaret Hayes, RHIA
Joan Loughran, RHIA
Barbara Moore, RHIA
Donna Pizzulli, MPA, RHIA
Georgette Siegel, JD, RHIA
Sally Simons, RHIA
Nan Walters, RHIA