AHIMA Triumph Award

Since their inception in 1994, the AHIMA Triumph Awards have honored those professionals responsible for advancing the field of health information management (HIM). Each year, AHIMA members nominate those that have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, volunteerism and talent. As part of a long and cherished tradition, the Triumph Awards continue to be the highest recognition of excellence, dedication and service, and are presented annually at the AHIMA Convention & Exhibit.

Susan P. Scully, MS, RHIA, CCS, FAHIMA 2014 Mentor Award
Fran DiLorenzo, RHIT 2013 Rising Star Award
Nadinia A. Davis, MBA, CIA, CPA, RHIA 2002 Legacy Award
Kathleen A. Frawley, JD, MS, RHIA (deceased) 2001 Distinguished Member Award
Marion K. Gentul, RHIA, CCS 1998 Mentor Award
Joyce M. Matheson, RHIT, CCS 1998 Motivator Award





Nominate someone (including yourself) for a Triumph Award.

The award categories are: (for more information see AHIMA.ORG site)

Community Service
The Community Outreach Award honors those HIM professionals or groups who have embraced the need for public outreach and encouraged the overall management of health information.

The Mentor Award honors individuals or groups with long records of encouraging individuals to realize their full potential, or have helped them find ways to achieve their best.

Leadership Awards
The Distinguished Member Award is AHIMA’s highest honor. This award celebrates an individual with a long, exceptional history of HIM contributions and is awarded to an outstanding individual in the field.

The  Advocacy and Public Policy Award honors those whose long-term and enthusiastic support of advocacy and public policy efforts have advanced the HIM profession to achieve its mission and/or advancement in HIM practice through involvement in HIM, HIT and HIE through active engagement at local, state and/or national levels.

Emerging Leader Award: The Emerging Leader Award honors those individuals who have made great strides and contributions to the HIM field, have been employed 5 years or more from the date of entry into the HIM profession. 

The Leadership Award honors those individuals or groups who have provided outstanding service as a leader;  demonstrated on-going leadership competency with the Association and the HIM profession; adhered and advocated for the AHIMA Code of Ethics, and any other appropriate codes of conduct; valued honesty, integrity and transparency, and work as team players/collaborators; recognized as a qualified authority in the HIM profession, and present a positive professional image for the association and the profession.

The Innovation Award honors those individuals, groups or organizations that are focused on moving HI/ HIM into the future of the healthcare and wellness industry. The Innovation Award honors persons or groups who have promoted important advances in areas related to HIM practice, quality data, standards development, patient safety, systems development, and any domain where visionary thinking has made a difference.
The Rising Star Award honors those individuals who are up and coming in the HIM field, and have been employed for 5 years or less from the date of entry in the HIM profession. 

HIM Development Awards
The Educator Award honors those who demonstrate excellence in preparing the next generation of professionals for their HIM careers.

The Literary Legacy Award honors those individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to the knowledge base of the HIM field through an insightful recent publication, building on the enduring tradition of the Edna K. Huffman Literary Award.

The Research Award honors those individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to original and applied HIM research.

The Student Award recognizes and encourages individuals who are the best of the fresh new talent being trained in CAHIIM-accredited or AHIMA-approved coding programs nationwide. 

Applicants must be a Member of AHIMA. Members of the AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee, AHIMA Board of Directors, and AHIMA staff are not eligible for awards during their term of service, even if the service for which they were nominated occurred prior to their term of service or employment. Members of the AHIMA Triumph Awards Committee, AHIMA Board of Directors and Staff are not eligible to write letters of recommendations for nominees. Only online applications are accepted. No exceptions.